News Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Michael McAllister
(803) 327-8032

March 29, 2013

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members

ROCK HILLEarlier this week, 59 York Technical College students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for two-year colleges. A GPA of at least 3.5 in 12 or more hours of degree-level courses is required to receive the honor.

Ivan Lowe, department chair for York Tech's Business department, spoke at the event, held at the Baxter Hood Center. Lowe spoke on the importance of the Phi Theta Kappa hallmarks of service, scholarship, and leadership and encouraged the inductees to be active members of the organization so that they can develop in these important areas.

Students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa:

Audrey Adams
Jennifer Binau
Brad Blades
Stacy Bolin
Lori Cameron
Lauren Caponigro
Kathryn Dean
Rhonda Driskell
Shaun Eddy
Connie Ellis
Jennie Feeley
Zandrea Frazier
 Linda Greene
Victor Hahn
Karen Harris
Rusty Helms
TreVonda Hemphill
Tonya Hollenbacher
Logan Houghton
Tunisia Hunter
Christina Jackson
Aisha Jean-Baptiste
Charisma Johnson
Shawn Jones
Robert Keasler
Sarah Key
Charles Koch, Jr.
Joseph Lanuto
Samuel Lopez
Terrence Mackey  
  Leslie Maietta
Joseph Mallard
Gary Maurer
Garrett McCluggage
James McFadden
Tyler McGalliard
Kristy McLaren
Szilvia Novak
Adam Ohlmann
Tiera Page
Andrew Parmley
Jordan Peters
James Plumley
Shannon Poole
David Poulton
William Quinton
Graham Reed
Steven Roads
Patricia Rodgers
Albert Sanchez
Megan Smith
Donika Strain
Weston Suchenski
Jessica Tapp
Chelsea Terhark-Luger
Lillian Turner
Towon White
Stephanie Whitesell
April Williams  

The York Tech chapter of Phi Theta Kappa received 13 awards from the Carolinas Region of Phi Theta Kappa International this year, and for the seventh year in the row, it earned 5-Star Chapter designation, the honor society's highest designation. The chapter hopes to also receive International awards at the Phi Theta Kappa International Convention in San Jose on April 4-6.

Phi Theta Kappa's mission is two-fold: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

For more information, contact Michael McAllister at (803) 327-8032 or

York Technical College / 452 South Anderson Road / Rock Hill, SC 29730