News Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Michael McAllister
(803) 327-8032

April 27, 2012

York Technical College President Dr. Greg Rutherford Receives the Prestigious Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction from Phi Theta Kappa

NASHVILLE, TENN.York Technical College President Dr. Greg Rutherford was one of 20 college presidents nationwide to receive the 2012 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction from Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for two-year colleges.

The announcement was made earlier this month at Phi Theta Kappa's annual international convention in Nashville, Tenn., attended by more than 3,000 students, chapter advisors, and college presidents.

Dr. Rutherford was nominated for the award by the student officers of York Tech’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter for his tireless support of the chapter and its projects. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, the Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors Chair.

The York Tech chapter received 15 awards from the Carolinas Region of Phi Theta Kappa earlier this year, and for the sixth year in the row, it earned 5-Star Chapter designation, the honor society's highest designation.

Phi Theta Kappa's mission is two-fold: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming. Headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 states and around the world.

For more information, contact Michael McAllister at (803) 327-8032 or

York Technical College / 452 South Anderson Road / Rock Hill, SC 29730