News Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Monique Perry
(803) 981-7161

July 25, 2013

York Technical College Announces Region’s First Presidential Scholars

High-Achieving High-School Graduates From York, Chester, and Lancaster Counties Accepted into Prestigious Leadership and Scholarship Program

ROCK HILLToday, York Technical College announced the first students accepted into its new Presidential Scholars program. Beginning this fall, York Technical College’s new Presidential Scholars Program will provide a select group of high-achieving high school students with a unique educational experience designed to prepare them for success at the university of their choice and beyond.

York Technical College President, Dr. Greg F. Rutherford shared his personal journey to success with the scholars. Dr. Rutherford is a technical college graduate and reiterated how that experience laid the foundation for his academic and professional success. He added, “This group represents the best and brightest in our community. They have already proven to have the character and confidence to succeed academically, and they’ll take that to the next level when they begin their studies at York Tech.”

Presidential Scholar Ryan Hammond looks forward to the camaraderie and sense of family he and his fellow scholars will share as York Tech’s inaugural class. “I am excited to be in the program, not only for myself, but also for the other scholars in the program with me – to have people I can go through school with, struggle with, communicate and solve problems together.” Scholar Matthew Myers, excited to receive the many benefits the program provides, adds, “York Tech was my first choice before I heard about this program. This makes my experience at York Tech even better.”

In addition to a scholarship to cover the full cost of tuition and college-provided textbooks, 24 selected students will receive a host of other exclusive benefits and opportunities in the academically enriched program, including an Apple®- iPad®, designated faculty mentors, and leadership and cultural activities. To be eligible for the Presidential Scholars Program, students must qualify for the Life Scholarship (GPA of 3.0 or higher) and test into college-level English and math.

The College is still accepting applications for a few remaining slots in the 2013 inaugural Presidential Scholars class. Interested applicants, rising seniors in the Class of 2014, and/or parents can complete an online interest form by visiting or by contacting Martin Grant, Program Coordinator directly at (803) 981-7157.

The 2013-2014 Presidential Scholars announced today include: Joshua Benfield, Clover, SC; Martha Chang, Clover, SC; Dain Christensen, York, SC; Christina Guerriero, Lake Wylie, SC; Ryan Hammond, Fort Mill, SC; Marius Hegemann, York, SC; Mitchell Killen, Fort Mill, SC; Kyle McCarter, Clover, SC; Edward A. Moore, York, SC; Matthew Myers, York, SC; Bryant Polk, Rock Hill, SC; Benjamin Pruette, Chester, SC; Jennifer Reisterer, Fort Mill, SC; Candace Snellenberger, Clover, SC; Brandon Wolfe, Tega Cay, SC.

York Technical College / 452 South Anderson Road / Rock Hill, SC 29730