News Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Monique Perry
(803) 981-7161

September 11, 2013

New Era Begins at York Tech with First Class of Presidential Scholars

ROCK HILLEach fall for the last 49 years, York Tech has opened its doors to new and returning students continuing their academic journeys.  This year, the doors opened to a new breed of college freshmen.  The inaugural class of Presidential Scholars – 24 of the region’s best and brightest high school graduates – began taking classes with the start of the Fall 2013 semester.

Presidential Scholars is an enhanced academic program for high-achieving, university-bound students beginning their studies at York Tech.  Along with complete tuition and book scholarships, Presidential Scholars receive a host of other exclusive benefits, including an Apple® iPad®, designated faculty mentors, and leadership and cultural activities. 

The iPads, distributed mainly for use in computer science courses, are coming in handy in other classes as well.  “They’re going to use them in speech class,” says Martin Grant, Program Advisor.  “They record one another giving presentations, play it back, critique and give feedback, vastly improving their verbal communication skills.”


The Scholars are also already starting to plan community service projects, completing 20 hours of service by next spring.  Many of those hours will be completed through organizations the students are already affiliated with, but some will be completed as part of coursework.  Planned is a Catawba River Sweep effort, a trip to the Magnolia Manor nursing home in Rock Hill, and a visit to a local soup kitchen, which will also meet an assignment objective for the Scholars’ first-year psychology class.


One of the most unique aspects of the program is the cohort style class schedule.  Scholars in their first year of study are on a specific track and take all of their classes together.  Presidential Scholar Program Advisor, Martin Grant, says the benefits of a cohort program go far beyond the practical aspects. “Students work in ‘success teams.’  They collaborate on projects with one another that will carry over into other classes.”


Among the goals set for 2014 is a plan to double the size of the program to include 48 students, allowing for two cohorts of 24 Scholars each. 


The 2013-2014 class of Presidential Scholars includes: Lamar Pinckney; Olivia Blackmon; Brandon Wolfe; Dain Christensen; Bryant Polk; Jennifer Reisterer; Matthew Myers; Mitchell Killen; Ryan Hammond; Martha Chang; Edward Moore; Joshua Benfield; Marius Hegemann; Christina Guerriero; Candace Snellenberger; Kyle McCarter; Maxx Saltarelli; Matthew Rumierz; Scarlett Howe; Patrick Houston; Christopher Panas; Sydney Cairnes; Christian White; Cascade Neighbors.


Media inquiries should be directed to Monique Perry, Director of Strategic Communications and Marketing at or 803-981-7161.

York Technical College / 452 South Anderson Road / Rock Hill, SC 29730